Dr. Matt Gerber Awarded the 2023 American Forensics Association (AFA) Distinguished Service Award

November 16, 2023

Dr. Matt Gerber has been named the recipient of the 2023 American Forensics Association (AFA) Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes Dr. Gerber’s decades of exemplary service to the college debate community, and to the AFA, and was presented Wednesday night at the AFA business and awards meeting. Gerber served as Baylor’s Director of Debate, and the Glenn R. Capp Chair of Forensics, from 2003-2022. He has served the AFA in a variety of ways, including a two-term AFA-appointed position on the NDT Committee, and as the Chair of the AFA Committee on Publications. Previous winners of this award include current Baylor Professor Dr. Rich Edwards (2014), and Glenn R. Capp (1982), for whom Baylor’s college debate program is named. Congratulations Dr. Gerber! 


Congratulations to award winners announced at 2023 AFA business meeting

Distinguished Service, DSR-TKA Lifetime Achievement, and Speaker of the Year Award Winners